Reviews for AA

Cynthia

Published on 16/01/2019

I booked 17hrs of lessons for my daughter as a Christmas gift.

I booked 17hrs of lessons for my daughter as a Christmas gift. The instructor turned up for the first lesson on the 31.12.18. We booked and agreed the lessons in advance weekly for the month of January 2019. The second lesson the instructor sent a text stating she was unwell on the day the lesson was due to take place. The third lesson the instructor turns up a bit early, doesn’t recall booking lessons in advance and states she can only see my daughter every two weeks for 2 hourly lessons. There was no lesson plan or record of learning and when she did turn up you’d get a call saying can I come 15mins early or she would drop my daughter off late which meant she was late for the next lesson. I cancelled all the lessons with AA and asked for a refund. The AA is meant to have instructors nationwide. They could only offer me a replacement of two instructors who teach on a automatic vehicle who charged more. I paid £478 for 17hrs. The only good thing about the AA was how quickly they processed the refund for the unused hours. They are just a booking or processing centre, they don’t appear to have much background information on the instructors and it really is pot luck who you’ll get. The instructors appear to be self employed/franchise. They’re hiding behind a brand and the AA also purchased BSM. It’s such a shame as I learnt with BSM over 20yrs ago and my son passed with the AA some years ago. The standard has really dropped, it’s all about the money. I’ll find an independent driving instructor through word of mouth. I would suggest others do the same as you have no idea what you’re getting and lessons tend to cost around £30-£31 per hour.

0
Helpful? Yes No

Joanne

Published on 04/01/2019

I have paid substantial money for my daughter to take driving lessons with the AA.

I have paid substantial money for my daughter to take driving lessons with the AA. I find them very unreliable. My daughter does not know one week to the next when her lessons will be - so zero planning. When she does finally know, it's either gets changed at short notice, or gets cancelled. My daughter is expected to constantly fit around the driving instructor at short notice, it means she cannot plan anything else in her life until she has passed her test. I do not know if this is common place within the AA or the industry as a whole, but I do know if I was so unreliable in my job, I'd be sacked! On a plus point, she does seem very happy with her instructor and having spoken to him myself, he certainly has a "nice" way about him that would be suited to teaching.

0
Helpful? Yes No

Chezza

Published on 04/01/2019

Waste of money lessons booked wrong days instructor changing times never pulled away from my own door taken to remote places absolutley disgusting i would not use again or recommend them very unprofessional and expensive

Waste of money lessons booked wrong days instructor changing times never pulled away from my own door taken to remote places absolutley disgusting i would not use again or recommend them very unprofessional and expensive

0
Helpful? Yes No

Stephanie

Published on 04/01/2019

If I can give no star as rating I would.

If I can give no star as rating I would. Sales agents dont disclose complete information and instructor assigned to me was not professional and always on his fone during the lessons. They did not give me a full refund when I asked for the cancelled lessons!

0
Helpful? Yes No

Aidan

Published on 10/09/2018

Be aware of instructors that will try and squeeze you for your money and drag out lessons so that you need to pay for more.

Be aware of instructors that will try and squeeze you for your money and drag out lessons so that you need to pay for more. 50 GBP for every two hours is a alot of money to give away. Wouldn't recommend Eric in the cameron toll area, Edinburgh. Took me on as a new student with very little availability to follow up on and also tried to cut my lesson short by 30 minutes! would not grant a %50 refund when requested. Shocking behaviour from AA. Will be looking elsewhere given that my first experience was not impressive.

0
Helpful? Yes No

Humanist

Published on 16/01/2019

Best Driving School.

Best Driving School. Worth the money. Very experienced tutor I had. Taught me from the basic knowledge up to becoming an experienced driver. Much more superior tuition than a lot of private instructors that are just in it for the money to exploit people while not teaching them as best as they could so BEWARE! It is worth spending more money on quality tuition than less money on poor tuition. Overall you will most likely spend less with AA though as you may not pass with a poor quality instructor. I would recommend AA to anyone who wishes to learn how to drive. The quality is supreme & at a high standard/level.

0
Helpful? Yes No

P

Published on 04/01/2019

My instructor Joe who teaches in North London was always10 minutes late to arrive and he made my lesson finish 10 minutes early.

My instructor Joe who teaches in North London was always10 minutes late to arrive and he made my lesson finish 10 minutes early. Also during your lesson he stops in the test centre you will use because he will say I need the toilet. Also during your lesson he fills up his petrol. Most times he says you will not have a lesson because his car is gone for servicing. AA is suppose to be a 1st class insurance company with brand new cars so how the hell can their car break down every week.

0
Helpful? Yes No

Mari

Published on 04/01/2019

Lessons in general were pretty ok, but in my opinion the driving instructor was way too technical when explaining how to drive/manouver, which caused me to feel quite "robotic" when handling the car.

Lessons in general were pretty ok, but in my opinion the driving instructor was way too technical when explaining how to drive/manouver, which caused me to feel quite "robotic" when handling the car. The lessons were also slightly pricy. When I changed driving school I realised how much easier it was to learn under a different instructor, who spoke plain English! I don't think I'd recommend AA in general but some people may have had a better experience.

0
Helpful? Yes No

Omer

Published on 04/01/2019

Absolutely terrible service.

Absolutely terrible service. My instructor was late for my first and my second lesson, and when I called to cancel further lessons because I wanted to switch instructors, I was told I might have to forfeit the next lesson fee!

0
Helpful? Yes No

Aida

Published on 04/01/2019

Do not book!

Do not book!!! First time I called and paid for my 1st 14 lessons I explained that I wanted intensive learning because I had my practical booked and the guy explained that it wouldn't be a problem and to book first 2 lessons with him at the time and the rest with my instructor because she would have all the abilities...so I said ok..Monday first 2hr was ok...at the end of driving she said she had no ability until the following Friday...even then I said ok. But not happy of course..10 minutes prior to my next 2hr lesson she texted me to say she only can do 1 hour...even then I said ok....at the end she said she's off on holiday so I'd need to book a different instructor...called the office the next day explaining how messed about I've been the lady said to me that there was no available instructors for me in my area of living even though I had to push my practical forward...I was so dissapointed....they don't care about your situation after they 've taken your money...in the end I wasted 3 lessons at almost £100 and the rest got refunded....shame on AA...because I thought they're professionals but far from it and wouldn't recommend them to anyone...all the good reviews have probably been written by their staff members and friends/family...in the end I found myself some1 cheaper and reliable...happy in the end but I should've gone through all that with AA!!!!

0
Helpful? Yes No

Ay

Published on 20/07/2018

My instructor Olu was fantastic everytime I did something wrong he pointed it out with extreme professionalism and great character and helped my correct my mistakes.

My instructor Olu was fantastic everytime I did something wrong he pointed it out with extreme professionalism and great character and helped my correct my mistakes. A great instructor and over all a very good man

1
Helpful? Yes No

Ann

Published on 09/07/2018

I would highly recommend Henry Hewitt , he covers the Welwyn area .

I would highly recommend Henry Hewitt , he covers the Welwyn area . He’s patient and gives lots of encouragement. I passed my test first time with him as my instructor

0
Helpful? Yes No
  • Previous Page